skip to log on skip to main content
VoiceOver users please use the tab key when navigating expanded menus

Jane Halton AO PSM


Independent Non-Executive Director

Non-Executive Director since October 2016.

Chair of the Digital Business and Technology Committee. Member of the Human Resources Committee, Ethics, Environment, Social and Governance Committee and Nomination and Board Operations Committee.


Ms Halton’s 33 year career in the public service includes the positions of Secretary of the Australian Department of Finance, Secretary of the Australian Department of Health, Secretary for the Department of Health and Ageing, and Executive Co-ordinator (Deputy Secretary) of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. She brings to the Board extensive experience in finance, insurance, risk management, information technology, human resources, health and ageing and public policy. She also has significant international experience.

Ms Halton has contributed extensively to community health through local and international organisations including the World Health Organisation and National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Council.

Relevant other directorships

Chairman: Vault Systems (from 2017), Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Innovations (Norway) (from 2018, Board member from 2016) and Council on the Ageing Australia (from 2017).

Director: Clayton Utz (from 2017) and Crown Resorts Limited (from 2018).

Member: Executive Board of the Institute of Health Metrics and Evaluation at the University of Washington (from 2007). 

Adjunct Professor: University of Sydney and University of Canberra.

Council Member: Australian Strategic Policy Institute (from 2016)

Relevant former directorships held in the last three years, include

Former Chairman: OECD Asian Senior Budget Officials Network (2014-2016).

Former Public Policy Fellow: ANU Crawford School of Public Policy (from 2012-2016).

Age: 59 years. Residence: Canberra, Australia. Nationality: Australian.