ANZ is authorised to operate as a bank by the Australian Prudential Regulatory Authority (APRA), the Australian prudential regulator is responsible for maintaining the stability and safety of the Australian financial system.

ANZ holds an Australian Financial Services Licence, issued by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC), which carries minimum standards relating to disclosure, advice and adviser training. As the financial services regulator, ASIC licenses and monitors financial services businesses to ensure that they operate efficiently, honestly and fairly.

ANZ is also subject to oversight by the Australian Transaction Reporting and Analysis Centre (AUSTRAC), Australia's anti-money laundering and counter-terrorism financing regulator and financial intelligence unit.

Australian competition laws are administered by the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission and ANZ is also subject to regulation under State law in relation to consumer lending and fair trading.

New Zealand

ANZ Bank New Zealand Limited operates under Conditions of Registration set by the Reserve Bank of New Zealand (RBNZ), which has a supervisory function to encourage the soundness and efficiency of the financial system as a whole.

ANZ New Zealand is subject to competition laws contained in the Commerce Act which is administered by the Commerce Commission, as well as legislation regulating consumer lending and fair trading.

Asia Pacific

As the largest bank in the Pacific and Australia's leading bank in Asia, ANZ operates in a large number of jurisdictions each with their own regulatory requirements. Locally incorporated subsidiary operations and representative offices in the Asia Pacific region adhere to relevant country specific banking and prudential requirements, overseen by central bank and regulatory authorities, in each country in which we operate.

For example, in Asia these include our subsidiaries in Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos and Malaysia and our representative offices in Thailand, Malaysia and the United Arab Emirates. In the Pacific this includes our subsidiaries in America Samoa, Guam, Kiribati, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Vanuatu and our representative office in New Caledonia.

APRA is responsible for prudential regulation of our branches located outside of Australia which must also comply with the laws of the countries in which they operate. ANZ has branches located in China, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Philippines, Cook Islands, Fiji, New Caledonia, Solomon Islands, Timor Leste and Tonga.